Open Journal Systems

Implementation of CEDAW in the Arab Countries: Analysis of Reservations

Lamis Nasser


The Arab world today consists of 22 countries all of which are members of the League of Arab States. These countries are Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan , Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. These countries share a common religion, language, hi story, and cultural heritage as a united distinct entity. The present state of Arab women is best understood and evaluated in light of the current demographic, political, economic, social, and religious situation of the region.


CEDAW; Discrimination against women; Arab countries

Full Text: PDF

DOI: 10.32380/alrj.v0i0.707


  • There are currently no refbacks.

ISSN: 0259-9953

This journal is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
Creative Commons License
Site developed by

  • Powered By OJS